Book Review: Love in the Afternoon (The Hathaways #5) by Lisa Kleypas

I can't believe I finished The Hathaways series. It was such exceptional storytelling and I loved them all. It went out with a bang with Love in the Afternoon!

Book Review: Love in the Afternoon (The Hathaways #5) by Lisa Kleypas | About That Story
Love in the Afternoon (The Hathaways #5) by Lisa Kleypas

She harbors a secret yearning.

As a lover of animals and nature, Beatrix Hathaway has always been more comfortable outdoors than in the ballroom. Even though she participated in the London season in the past, the classic beauty and free-spirited Beatrix has never been swept away or seriously courted... and she has resigned herself to the fate of never finding love. Has the time come for the most unconventional of the Hathaway sisters to settle for an ordinary man—just to avoid spinsterhood?

He is a world-weary cynic.

Captain Christopher Phelan is a handsome, daring soldier who plans to marry Beatrix's friend, the vivacious flirt Prudence Mercer, when he returns from fighting abroad. But, as he explains in his letters to Pru, life on the battlefield has darkened his soul—and it's becoming clear that Christopher won't come back as the same man. When Beatrix learns of Pru's disappointment, she decides to help by concocting Pru's letters to Christopher for her. Soon the correspondence between Beatrix and Christopher develops into something fulfilling and deep... and when Christopher comes home, he's determined to claim the woman he loves. What began as Beatrix's innocent deception has resulted in the agony of unfulfilled love—and a passion that can't be denied.

5 out of 5 stars

Heartwarming and sweet, this story touched my heart as Beatrix and Christopher came together and fell in love. There were so many ups and downs, love, and emotion, and wonderful scenes with these fantastic characters, I adored it all. An exceptional conclusion to the series!

I love how Beatrix and Christopher got to know each other, to really feel that build between them through words. It was such a unique situation they were in. I loved them reconnecting and getting to know each other face to face, having their perceptions of the other change. I enjoyed the tension between them and their growing attraction.

While this story had all the great elements of the others in the series, I felt it so much more deeply with what Christopher was going through. His pain and thought process were portrayed so well, it was hard not to feel for him and root for him. Bea was so kind and caring and loved with her whole heart. I've always liked her so it was wonderful really getting to know her more. I loved how determined she was, how she was there for Christopher. It was all very well thought out.

The writing, the build, the characters, it was all excellent. I loved the development of Beatrix and Christopher’s relationship; I loved the men together and Christopher's relationship with Leo. I loved Cam and Merripen, the sisters and their strong bond, and this menagerie of animals that Bea has made part of the family. It was so entertaining with these great, scenes, funny, sweet, and sexy, but emotional laced with drama that kept me on your toes. Amazing story! 

Book Review: Love in the Afternoon (The Hathaways #5) by Lisa Kleypas | About That Story

Purchase your copy of Love in the Afternoon
Kindle | Paperback | Publisher's Books Page
Connect with Lisa Kleypas
Add Love in the Afternoon to Goodreads

Mine Till Midnight (Hathaways Book 1) by [Kleypas, Lisa] Seduce Me at Sunrise (Hathaways Book 2) by [Kleypas, Lisa] Tempt Me at Twilight (Hathaways Book 3) by [Kleypas, Lisa]
Married by Morning (Hathaways Book 4) by [Kleypas, Lisa] Love in the Afternoon (Hathaways Book 5) by [Kleypas, Lisa]
The Hathaways Series
Mine Till Midnight (#1) - Amazon | My Review
Seduce Me at Sunrise (#2) - Amazon | My Review
Tempt Me at Twilight (#3) Amazon | My Review
Married by Morning (#4) - Amazon | My Review

 It Happened One Autumn (The Wallflowers, Book 2) by [Kleypas, Lisa] The Devil in Winter (The Wallflowers, Book 3) by [Kleypas, Lisa] A Scandal in Spring (The Wallflowers, Book 4) by [Kleypas, Lisa]
The Wallflowers Series
Secrets of a Summer Night (#1) – Amazon | My Review
It Happened One Autumn (#2) - Amazon | My Review
Devil in Winter (#3) - Amazon | My Review
Scandal in Spring (#4) - Amazon | My Review

Cold-Hearted Rake by [Kleypas, Lisa] Marrying Winterborne by [Kleypas, Lisa] Devil in Spring: The Ravenels, Book 3 by [Kleypas, Lisa] Hello Stranger: The Ravenels, Book 4 by [Kleypas, Lisa] Devil's Daughter: The Ravenels meet The Wallflowers by [Kleypas, Lisa] Chasing Cassandra
The Ravenels Series
Cold-Hearted Rake (#1) by Lisa Kleypas – Amazon | My Review
Chasing Cassandra (#6) - Amazon | My Review

Technically these historical romance books by Lisa Kleypas are standalone's so you can read them in any order you want. The stories do have interconnected characters so it was suggested to me to start at the very beginning with The Wallflowers series. This way you can see all the characters grow and have kids. I am so glad I decided to do this, I loved the build, the overall character development and the flow of the world as it expands. If you are an "in order" person like me, I suggest the following reading order:

The Wallflowers Series - The Hathaways Series - The Ravenels Series 

I've officially read all three of these series but am behind on sharing my reviews. They're all so fantastic though, I can't begin to say enough good things.

I adored this series and can't get enough Lisa Kleypas. What are some of your favorite historical romance authors? Let me know!

Book Review: Love in the Afternoon by Lisa Kleypas | About That Story

Don’t want to miss another post? Subscribe to this blog by email.